(Free) Resources for Writing Better Fundraising Letters

August 19, 2008 at 2:51 pm (Best Practices, Free Resources, Fundraising) (, , , )

The first big project I’ve been asked to take on in my new role as Development Coordinator for the Legacy Donor Foundation is writing “presale” letters for our upcoming fundraiser, Soul Revival.  Basically, this is our first “ask” for sponsorship dollars and ticket orders.  It’s the first step in our campaign to raise $300,000 with this event.

Because I have no idea what I’m doing, and decided to rewrite our old letters from scratch, I spent a lot of time researching best practices for crafting a fundraising letters.  Here are some of the best free resources I found.  Maybe somebody else can benefit from the time I spent digging this stuff up.  So here you go.

(I could just summarize my research, I suppose, but instead I’m just linking to the original authors.  They know what they’re talking about, I don’t.  Not to mention I’m not sure about the whole copyright/plagiarism thing when it comes to blogging and internet resources in general.  You’ll notice the same themes come up over and over again, so presumably these suggestions must work.  I’ll post again six months from now with my own position, when we’ve had time to see the results.)

Okay, so there are only two so far, but I’ll add more later when I find them.  I was doing a recap of my research, and this is as far as I got before deciding to write this post.

Please feel free to share thoughts or other resources!  I’ll add them to the list.

3 Comments

  1. Marc A. Pitman said,

    Thanks for your kind words!

  2. shortcutsleuth said,

    Thanks for the info! It’s important to learn to write good letters when trying to get people to part with their money, but in my experience with fundraising, I have always found that letter writing is the best way to do it. For some other fundraising ideas, I have written some tips at http://shortcutsleuth.com/family/fundraising/5-no-brainer-fundraising-ideas/ Still I find letter writing to be the best way (and it’s #1 on my list). Thanks again for sharing your research!

  3. shortcutsleuth said,

    Thanks for the info! It’s important to learn to write good letters when trying to get people to part with their money, but in my experience with fundraising, I have always found that letter writing is the best way to do it. For some other fundraising ideas, I have written some tips at http://shortcutsleuth.com/family/fundraising/5-no-brainer-fundraising-ideas/ Still I find letter writing to be the best way (and it’s #1 on my list). Thanks again for sharing your research!

Leave a Reply

